18 PHI elements

Electronic protected health information (ePHI) refers to any protected health information (PHI) that is covered under Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) security regulations and is produced, saved, transferred or received in an electronic form.   Read more on what information is protected.

There are 18 specific types of electronic protected health information

1. Name
2. Address
3. Dates related to an individual
4. Telephone numbers
5. Fax number
6. Email address
7. Social Security number
8. Medical record number
9. Health plan beneficiary number
10. Account number
11. Certificate/license number
12. Any vehicle or other device serial
13. Device identifiers or serial numbers
14. Web URL
15.Internet Protocol (IP) address
16.Finger or voice prints
17.Photographic images
18.Any other characteristic that would uniquely identify the individual